top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoshua Ellis

IsoEngine update 21/02/2020

Updated: Mar 4, 2020

Just a quick one.

So due to having to catch up on last weeks content schedule (in part to my day off and trip to IKEA that I wrote about in the last post), this week will be short and sweet. That being said, we are not quite done with this weeks work, as another livestream has yet to be done, and some work may continue on Sunday. Hopefully next weeks post should be a bit more full for you guys.


3D models.

Matthews has been doing some great work with the prop models this week, in getting the test assets I spoke about last week sorted. He's now at a point where he's happy for me to test them and to see if the are working correctly in engine, and he's sent them my way. From what I understand there should be four rocks, a tree and a well, which should be more than enough to set up a little diorama.


Props.

I'm going to import the 3D models provided as soon as possible to give Matthews my feedback. I will also use this to test my own code, and what I'm hoping is that it highlights any glaring issues or features that need working on as a priority. I'm aiming to get this sorted within the next few days before and then I can make a mental list of what needs working on before our presentation deadline. I am optimistic about completing this work, but it hasn't been as speedy as I have hoped for.


Livestream updates.

I've been struggling a bit to find the motivation to do development work, and I believe it has something to do with the way I'm handling the livestreams. Currently, I've been winging it with the agreement that on certain days I go live. This has been great in setting consistency, but not for the quality or duration of my work, so moving forward I'm going to try and find a way to make it more formal. I've just setup myself a stream countdown, with me starting at 12 GMT time each day, and I'm also going to trial setting a minimum hours and break schedule as well.


It's a slog to do work, especially when having to present on stream, but hopefully these formalities should be all I need to get back on track. I'm also doing this to try to boost viewership as well, as before I was getting up to ten a stream, but now I get no one. There's a mix of reasons for this, with the main one being timing, as I'm no longer streaming during quiet hours when I'm most likely to get more traffic. Having a schedule should correct this. In addition I'm also going to be doing more outreach on social media again, which is something that fell to the wayside when getting our content schedule up to speed.


Fin.

So same old really in that I'm trying to find ways to improve my motivation and work quality. Seems like it's a constant struggle, and I don't think I'll ever be "there". Hopefully though, things should start to come together, and all in all we're happy with the direction we are moving in. Just concerned with speed. One thing that has crossed my mind is bringing someone else on board, but I really don't think either of us want to dilute the vision that we have for the company, and that is the risk we run in doing so. On that note, I hope you have enjoyed as always, and have a great week everyone!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page